The Museum of Hoaxes Forum star
our sister site - The Mad Science Museum
About
facebook twitter rss
2012 doomsday calendar
Powergen Italia
Over the past two weeks a lot of attention has been paid to a website whose name could be read in two ways: http://www.powergenitalia.com. Think about it. Powergen Italia, or... Anyway, I didn't link to it here at first, believing it was a legitimate company that didn't realize how its name could be misread. Turns out I was wrong. According to an article in The Register, the site is a spoof. The real company named Powergen denies having an Italian division named Powergen Italia. Someone must have created the site for a laugh. Perhaps a disgruntled Powergen employee. Some other website names that can be read in two ways are WhoRepresents.com (Whore Presents) and IPanywhere.com. (via Vowe.net)
Categories: Technology, Websites
Posted by Alex on Mon Jun 23, 2003
Comments (2)
It's not a hoax, but an Italian battery manufacturer (no relation to UK-based Powergen). They pulled the pages with the amusing URL a year ago, but you can still find them here: http://web.archive.org/web/20030612001315/http://www.powergenitalia.com/1
Posted by hippy dippy weatherman  on  Sun Jun 20, 2004  at  11:46 PM
The best place to get custom made pens on the internet is from a company called Pen Island - see their website.
Posted by SirGeoff  on  Sun Jan 30, 2005  at  09:43 AM
Comments: Page 1 of 1 pages

Note: Comments by non-members are all checked by a moderator before appearing on the site. This may take a while. If you're not a spammer, you can join here.




Smileys