Amazon.com Widgets
About the Museum
The Museum of Hoaxes is dedicated to promoting knowledge about hoaxes. (Click here for opening hours, etc.) On our blog we post about dubious- sounding claims, and whatever else strikes our fancy. The site is also home to the Hoaxipedia (the museum's online encyclopedia of hoaxes), the Hoax Forum, and the Top 100 April Fools' Day Hoaxes.

The museum was created in 1997 by Alex Boese. He's assisted by a staff of deputy curators and docents. Alex is the author of three books, most recently Elephants on Acid: And Other Bizarre Experiments (which has nothing to do with hoaxes). Check out the list of the Top 20 Most Bizarre Experiments of All Time for a preview.


Web Hoax Museum

Prankplace.com
COVERT CLICKER
Secretly control the TV, anywhere, any time! This device is so small it is easily concealed in your pocket. It can control volume, change the channel or turn the TV on & off. It works on 90% of all TV's.

FUNNY T-SHIRTS
Browse our top quality t-shirts, and you are guaranteed to find one perfect for you, or to give as a funny gift to a friend or family member. Our shirts come in your choice of sizes, most are available in Medium, Large, XL, 2XL and 3XL.


What is Neurocam?
Neurocam is very specific about what it is not. Its website asserts that:
neurocam is not a cult religion
neurocam is not a scientific discovery
neurocam is not anything to do with politics
neurocam is not anything to do with religion
neurocam is not a prank or a hoax

However, it's not clear at all exactly what Neurocam is. Compounding the mystery is that billboards have been appearing around Australia bearing the message "Get out of your mind" and directing people towards the neurocam website. There's not much to see on the site itself, but if you register and successfully pass the 'background checks' they put you through, you're eventually given strange tasks to perform, such as giving a stranger a locked briefcase. The leading theory is that neurocam is some kind of Alternative Reality Game. Or it could be a bizarre viral advertising campaign. Or it could be an art project. The people on Metafilter theorize it has something to do with this 'company' marketing Human Possibility.
Posted By: Alex | Date: Mon Jan 17, 2005 | Permalink | Total Comments: 23
Category: Websites
Comments
Listed in chronological order. Newest comments at the end.
Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >
I tried registering, but it wouldn't work :(
Posted by Citizen Premier  in  San Diego  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  04:36 PM
Neurocam
A nerve camera? Maybe it's to see how much nerve you have? Kinda like the old MTV show jackass?
Posted by Casey W.  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  05:37 PM
Neuro-Linguistic Programming has a Coaching and Mentoring OnLine (CAM for short)http://www.coachingandmentoringonline.com/
Posted by TiaMaria6577  in  Alberta  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  07:06 PM
I suspect it's some sort of neo-dadaist movement and the name wasn't picked for anything more than phonetic significance.
Posted by Citizen Premier  in  San Diego  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  07:28 PM
It now claims not to be an ARG. I'm pretty sure it's related to ShellyInnocence- 'she' mentions it in her webjournal.
I registered, we'll see where this goes! I'm amused that the registration form is from the old Matt's Script Archive.
Posted by Katey  on  Mon Jan 17, 2005  at  09:10 PM
Wow. Sounds like the movie "The Game."
Posted by Ga  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  08:42 AM
This link, http://www.vca.unimelb.edu.au/admin/admin_links/projekt/artists/hely.html, suggests that Neurocam's "Robert Henley" is actually artist Robert Hely and that the whole thing is an elaborate art piece.
Posted by Dusty  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  10:08 AM
well i've registered. nothing much has happened yet. maybe its just a collation of names.
Posted by Nick  in  Merrie Olde Englande  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  10:51 AM
I couldn't help it, I registered. We'll see.
Posted by lilad  in  Canada  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  03:26 PM
I registered too. I just received this response from Neurocam:

Dear Applicant

Thank you for expressing interest in Neurocam.

Your application has been forwarded to a designated officer within the
Human Resources Security Division so that our organization can further
evaluate your suitability for recruitment.

In the interest of facilitating an expedient assessment, the Human
Resources Security Division is currently implementing a series of
background checks.åÊ We apologize in advance for the potentially
intrusive nature of these checks and assure you that Neurocam
International only undertakes this course of action in the interest of
protecting our propriety operational procedures.åÊ Any information
gathered from this historical evaluation will be treated as strictly
confidential.

If your application is successful you will be contacted by Mr. Charles
Hastings, Head of Neurocam International‰Ûªs Operations Division. Mr.
Hastings will further inform you about the nature of the tasks Neurocam
requires you to complete.

An unsuccessful application will result in the cessation of all further
correspondence between Neurocam and yourself.

Neurocam appreciates that, in 83.6% of instances, new applicants
experience a desire to enquire about many issues which may further
enlighten them as to the true nature of Neurocam.åÊ Due to the need to
maintain a high level of operational security Neurocam is unable to
provide much of the information desired by entry level participants.

We can, however, inform you of the following ‰ÛÒ Neurocam is a process
which you are already part of.

Having said this, if you do have any questions, please feel free to
contact me directly. I will endeavor to answer as many of your
enquiries as Neurocam's Organizational Security Guidelines allow.

Thank you once again for expressing interest in Neurocam.åÊ I hope that
your application will be successful and that I will soon have the
pleasure of working with you.

Warm regards,

Maxwell Knight
Head, Human Resources Security Division
Neurocam International
Posted by Alex  in  San Diego  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  03:35 PM
I registered shrub for this. Tee hee.
Posted by BugbearSloth  in  earth, 3rd planet, sol system  on  Tue Jan 18, 2005  at  11:37 PM
Oooooook, I registered, and now I am a little freaked out. I have ran detailed searches on the president of this company and this is a little too secret. They spent 10K on a billboard just for people to go to their web site. It seems that no one can hack in their systen. Very strange shit. I also recieved an email just like the one stated earlier.
Posted by Stephen  on  Wed Jan 19, 2005  at  10:37 AM
I registered with neurocam under the following name, with asterisks removed (asterisks so that Neurocam can't Google for the name and find me): J*o*n*e*s S*t*e*v*e*n*s*o*n.

I've been looking around the web, treating it as a joke, and it seems that it's not. Neurocam seem to be pretty well-funded and pretty dedicated to what they do (whatever that is). I'm going to see what happens, keeping regular updates on my blog (http://tohellinamilkfloat.blogspirit.com).

I may at some point cite the Data Protection Act, asking for details of all confidential data they hold on me, and see whether they are willing to provide it. Any assignments I recieve will be posted on my blog if frivolous, and sent to the British Home Office if serious.

Frankly, I don't know whether it's all a joke or not!
Posted by John  in  London, England  on  Wed Jan 19, 2005  at  12:08 PM
You're all getting worked up over nothing, you know...
Posted by Myotas  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  01:13 AM
Using asterisks to protect yourself is pretty sneaky.
Posted by Johnå¨  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  10:52 AM
Before I got a Gmail account, everywhere I posted would get spammed into oblivion. I had to scramble email addresses all the time to prevent spiders (programs that search the web for email addresses to send spam to) from getting me.

But with gmail, I'm not bothered by spam because I know it can't fill up my inbox no matter how much there is.

I am not making a fuss over nothing. What I'm doing is making far too much of a fuss over something it's not worth bothering about!
Posted by John  in  London, England  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  11:13 AM
No, I mean Neurocam. There's really nothing to it. A lot of the torture accusations are easily proved as false, if you look at the story and the video.
Posted by Myotas  on  Thu Jan 20, 2005  at  07:00 PM
Sounds a bit like Join Me http://www.join-me.co.uk/
Posted by Tyn  in  Sheffield, England  on  Sun Jan 23, 2005  at  07:10 PM
Maxwell Knight, Neurocam's supposed Head of Human Resources, Security Division is also the name of a famous and long-dead World War II spy who was good friends with Ian Fleming, the creator of James Bond. The character of Bond's boss 'M' was supposedly based on Maxwell Knight.
Posted by Moof  in  UK  on  Thu Jan 27, 2005  at  02:07 AM
Hugo Pikestaff, eh?

http://www.shellyinnocence.com/4A.html
Posted by tc399  on  Mon Feb 14, 2005  at  04:48 PM
Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Name:

Email (if you want to be notified of responses):

Location:

URL:

Note: To prove that you're a human being, not an automated spam bot, you've got to type in the word you see below. If you register as a member of the site you won't have to do this. Once registered, you'll then also need to login. If you're seeing this notice, and you've already registered, that means you haven't logged in. As a member you also won't have to enter your personal info every time you leave a comment.

Submit the word you see below:


Smileys

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?