6 of 8
FUEL ADDITIVES: Pills, liquids etc. Are these for real or just more SCAMS?
Posted: 25 May 2006 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Five Star Member
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4243
Joined  2005-06-05
CyndiWilliams - 25 May 2006 05:17 PM

Now, I was just being playful with “you guys are just hopeless” comment.

But I do understand both sides of this story. 

But honestly, do you think anyone in this group would truly be willing to concede that it works? I mean, if someone tracks their mileage for a month without the product, then uses it over a period of a month, and their average is better, then couldn’t we then conclude that the product is working?  And if so, would the skeptics be able to agree?  Or would they continue to look for other reasons to discount the results?

I would, but not over a month. My mileage and driving habits are too variable from month to month to make the test valid whether it shows improvement or not.

I’m a rationalist and a scientist and I respect truth whether it fits my pre-conceptions or not. Also I get paid to conduct studies like this (or used to), I don’t fork out my own money to conduct them.

Posted: 25 May 2006 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Five Star Member
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7682
Joined  2005-06-05

Cyndi, people here are individuals, and as such, I can only speak for myself but I can honestly say that if the product works, why in the world would I say it didn’t?

and the only study I would accept is an independant, scientific (read, lots of gizmo’s) study, one done in the confines of a secure testing environment with set parameters. Otherwise, the variables are just too great for a reliable study to be done.

Before and after photo’s of someone’s “on-board computer” are virtually useless and prove nothing.

Signature