New Forum | Museum of Hoaxes | Login | Register as a Member | Search

Merrick Biotech of cloning
Posted By:
Yaanu
May 21, 2005

Merrick Biotech Website

Don't. Ask.
Category: Advertising, Website-Hoax; Replies: 18

Comments
Listed in chronological order. Newest comments at the end.
Page 1 of 1 pages
Captain Al
in Alberta, Canada
Member
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 | 10:17 AM
This looks fake. As far as I know, cloning human organs is not yet possible. Yet this site talks like it is already being done and has been for a while, judging by the fact they say it takes 2 or 3 years, depending on the complexity of the organ.

I think sites like this are just exercises and online portfolios for programmers and graphic designers.
Yaanu
Member
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 | 10:19 AM
I noticed something: If you go to the downloads section and select the second wallpaper to download, there's a mouse with an ear in its back. Didn't that picture show up somewhere else?

Also, a WhoIs search shows up with nothing.
Citizen Premier
in spite of public outcry
Member
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 | 05:22 PM
I don't think serious scientists would be impressed by this fanfare, and probably would be put off by it.
Probably for a new movie.
FuzzyDreadlocks
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 | 11:34 PM
Im studying genetics at the moment - and I'm fairly sure that cloning human organs is neither legal nor currently achieved with the restraints on science which developed countries have in place.
Maegan
in Tampa, FL - USA
Member
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 | 03:33 AM
The mouse/ear thing happened a few years ago.

And organs can deffinately be cloned. I saw it on an episode of Star Trek. rolleyes
Joseph
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 | 07:46 PM
No, Its not real. Its off of a movie. It hasen't been released yet. go to http://www.theisland-themovie.com click Enter site. On the right it will say learn more about Merrick Biotech. Its a fake site. Promoting the movie.
Citizen Premier
in spite of public outcry
Member
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 | 09:03 PM
So, let me guess, somehow a thumb gets attached to a tongue, and it goes on a rampage eating people's brains?
Maegan
in Tampa, FL - USA
Member
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 | 03:26 AM
Oooh. I saw the trailer during Star Wars. Looks sort of like a rip off of that movie "13th Floor".
Maegan
in Tampa, FL - USA
Member
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 | 03:27 AM
...and The Matrix.
Winona
in USA
Member
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 | 08:23 AM
Joke page: IVF Woman Gives Birth to Mouse with Ear on it's Back

Actually though, the mouse pic is real. We saw a program on it on Discover Channel one night. It is a prosthetic ear, that was implanted with human cartilage cells on it. Apparently they used the nude mouse because of it's lack of a normal immune system so they wouldnt have to worry about rejection issues, if I remember correctly.

Quote from TLC.com:
Mouse and Human Ear
"Looking more like the handiwork of a mad scientist, this mouse actually served as a host for growing a human ear. Dr. Charles Vacanti of the University of Massachusetts implanted a scaffold, or mold, in the shape of a human ear on the back of the mouse. The scaffold was made of fine strands of a new kind of biodegradable plastic and seeded with living cells. The living cells adhered to the plastic fibers as they grew and took on the shape of the mold. In time the plastic mold dissolved, and the living cells took over and generated new tissue; the new tissue in this case being a three-dimensional, contoured ear. Where does the mouse come in? ... The mouse provided the warmth and nourishment for the growing cells."
Boo
in The Land of the Haggii...
Member
Posted: Tue May 24, 2005 | 02:32 AM
'An ear on the back of a mouse? That had to be the work of stoned lottery winners.
"Ahahahahaha, hey, put cheese in the ear and make it walk around as a buffet for the other mice! Ahahahahahaha."'

To paraphrase Bill Bailey.
Munkeymon
in Purdue
Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 | 07:22 AM
This is simply some form of advertising for http://www.theisland-themovie.com/

Domain Name: MERRICKBIOTECH.COM
Registrar: DOTSTER, INC.
Whois Server: whois.dotster.com
Referral URL: http://www.dotster.com
Name Server: NS1.NAMERESOLVE.COM
Name Server: NS2.NAMERESOLVE.COM
Name Server: NS3.NAMERESOLVE.COM
Name Server: NS4.NAMERESOLVE.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Updated Date: 27-apr-2005
Creation Date: 21-apr-2005
Expiration Date: 21-apr-2006

Possibly their web graphics guy messing around or something.

Also, that ear was grown on the back of that maouse as either a proof of concept for soft tissue growth or an actual replacement ear for someone. Maby both, but either way, it's real.
Josh M
in Earth
Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 | 11:24 PM
You guys are idiots, of course this is a hoax. Merrick is a publicity spot, a damn good one i must say, for the upcoming movie The Island. Watch the movie, or even just watch the damn trailer and you'll see everything.
Captain Al
in Alberta, Canada
Member
Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 | 07:09 AM
Yeah, I guess we must be idiots. Imagine, us not knowing about every dumb movie that's coming out of Hollywood. I guess we just don't care about the really important things going on in the world. I wish I were smart and informed like Josh.
Joei
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 | 02:40 PM
Its a fake. the scences which you'll get on the page clonewatch.org (even a fake too), are filmscences from "the island". watch the movie and you know what i mean.
Jeff
in The Tail Section
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 | 07:33 AM
I don't know about the movie "The Island" but I got to this site via a site, http://pb-sales.com/businesses.htm that is part of an elaborate setup for the television show "Lost". There are several business listed there including the fictitious airline company that the survivors of "Lost" were on when they crashed. Also included there is a company called "Daystrom Data Concepts" that originated in the "Star Trek" series who built computer and data systems for their ships. "Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems" originated in the "Buckaroo Banzai" series as well. All in all, very well done links and sites and a lot of fun checking it all out.
Lizzie
in MN
Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 | 01:49 PM
Narcoleptic Barracuda (narcolepticbarracuda.blogspot.com) takes a different outlook on all of this. Can't tell if he's real or joking, though. This blog is a trip.
Mary-Lynn
in Alberta
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 | 11:17 AM
Haha cloning WTF?!?!:)
Page 1 of 1 pages

Name:

Email (if you want to be notified of responses):

Location:

URL:

Note: To prove that you're a human being, not an automated spam bot, you've got to type in the word you see below. If you register as a member of the site you won't have to do this. Once registered, you'll then also need to login. If you're seeing this notice, and you've already registered, that means you haven't logged in. As a member you also won't have to enter your personal info every time you leave a comment.

Submit the word you see below:


Smileys

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?