New Forum | Museum of Hoaxes | Login | Register as a Member | Search

CounterfeitMini.org?
Posted By:
AuelNeider
Feb 17, 2005

I've been seeing this commercial on TV alot lately, but I'm wondering if it's true or not. I thought it was a joke at first, like a commercial that takes itself seriously even though it's a joke like the Buger King/Dr. Angus commercials, simply because the commercial features "Counterfeit Mini Coopers" which look quite blatantly fake. Then at the end of the commercial it shows a DVD you can order that has in-depth information on how "not to be fooled" and it goes undercover to show the counterfiet Minis being made. I went to the site as said in the commercial (CounterfeitMini.org), and I snooped around a bit and jokingly went to the page to buy the DVD, expecting a "Oops, we're all out of stock" message or something but no, it began asking for my personal information. Is this some kind of marketing tool, or are there really people out there who cannot tell the difference? I'd question if it were a scam or not if it were some low-quality commercial, but it's not.
Category: Advertising, Website-Hoax; Replies: 14

Comments
Listed in chronological order. Newest comments at the end.
Page 1 of 1 pages
Citizen Premier
in spite of public outcry
Member
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 | 08:32 PM
Make sure you spell counterfeit correctly when putting this in your browser, or you'll be linked to a porn site.
AuelNeider
Member
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 | 08:34 PM
Blech, my bad. Let me edit the post
Alex
in San Diego
Member
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 | 08:40 PM
I fixed it for you (and added a link to the site).
AuelNeider
Member
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 | 08:41 PM
Thanks, this is my first post here so my bad. shut eye
Nick
in Merrie Olde Englande
Member
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 | 03:56 AM
This has to be a marketing ploy, probably dreamt up by some local Mini garage. At least this guy has a sense of humour, cf How to spot a fake
willie
in maryland usa
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 | 07:10 AM
marketing ploy. Funny though.
Alex
in San Diego
Member
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 | 09:53 AM
Adrants says that this was created by Mini Cooper's ad agency: Crispin Porter + Bogusky.
Miller Tyme
in in San Diego
Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 | 04:21 PM
Haha, The two motorcycles duct taped together is classic!
Josh
in NC
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 | 12:26 AM
Called the number on the bottom of the page and you get some guy saying he's out until the end of the month doing deep undercover work in Brazil under the code name "Bosco". Chuckle-worthy site.
no,that was dumb
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 | 12:10 AM
I just think its stupid and insulting to my intelligence-also not funny-btw I did not see the duct taped motorcycles in the commercial,that probably would have tipped their hand i suppose, if anyone is making money off this crap besides the ad agency & tv networks I'd be surpised.
David Teegarden
in Tulsa, OK
Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 | 10:55 AM
Very, very, extremely funny ad.
How'd they talk 'em into paying for it?
I'd pay for a copy of it.
Dany
in Waco, Texas
Member
Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 | 08:52 AM
The conterfiet cooper ad is a adervertising ploy. I saw it on a show on Court TV last night.
Matt Smith
in Michigan
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 | 02:57 PM
I was just up at a party with my girlfriend and we had seen the ad for the counterfeit mini on tv. I was trying to buy her the dvd because we both thought it funny and also because she loves mini coopers. Unfortonatly they are all sold out or so they say. If anyone has one or know how to get one plz let me know. Email is .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
oyunlar
in istanbul
Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 | 12:38 PM
Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 | 12:10 AM
I just think its stupid and insulting to my intelligence-also not funny-btw I did not see the duct taped motorcycles in the commercial,that probably would have tipped their hand i suppose, if anyone is making money off this crap besides the ad agency & tv networks I'd be surpised.
Page 1 of 1 pages

Name:

Email (if you want to be notified of responses):

Location:

URL:

Note: To prove that you're a human being, not an automated spam bot, you've got to type in the word you see below. If you register as a member of the site you won't have to do this. Once registered, you'll then also need to login. If you're seeing this notice, and you've already registered, that means you haven't logged in. As a member you also won't have to enter your personal info every time you leave a comment.

Submit the word you see below:


Smileys

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?