|
HSBC Bank Scam
|
Posted By:
Alex
in San Diego Oct 20, 2004
|
I just received this email that puts a slightly new spin on the Nigerian Bank Scam:
My name is James Swart. I am a senior partner in the firm of EQUANT Consultants:Private
Investigators and Security Consultants. We are conducting a standard process
investigation on behalf of HSBC, the international Banking conglomerate.
This investigation involves a client who shares the same surname with you
and also the circumstances surrounding investments made by this client at
HSBC Republic,the Private Banking arm of HSBC. The HSBC Private Banking
client died intestate and nominated no successorin
title over the investments made with the Bank. The essence of this communication
with you is to request you provide us information/comments on any or all
of the four issues:
1-Are you aware of any relative/relation who shares your same surname whose
last known contact address was Brussels Belgium?
2-Are you aware of any investment of considerable value made by such a person
at the Private Banking Division of HSBC Bank PLC?
3-Born on the 1st of June 1927
4-Can you establish beyond reasonable doubt your eligibility to assume status
of successor in title to the deceased?
It is pertinent that you inform us ASAP whether or not you are familiar
with this personality that we may put an end to this communication with
you and our inquiries surrounding this personality. You must appreciate
that we are constrained from providing you with more detailed information
at this point. Please respond to this mail as soon as possible to afford
us the opportunity to close this investigation. Thank you for accommodating
our enquiry.
James Swart
For:Equant Consultants
Please reply to this e-mail address (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address))
The big tip-off that it's a scam is that the guy is using a yahoo email address, even though he claims to be working for HSBC.
And then a quick google search reveals this warning about the scam posted on HSBC's website:
http://www.hsbcprivatebank.com/public/republic/rhp/popup/en/email_message_2.html
|
Comments
|
Page 3 of 3 pages < 1 2 3 |
k dering
in wa state
|
Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 | 07:05 AM
I have a question for friends who I know are getting scammed and they do not believe me, the scam involves the HSBC bank of the UK, seller (friends) sold car on e-bay, buyer (scammers) buying car with a draft drawn on HSBC of Colorado, the amt that was sent was 3000.00 over the selling amount, seller (friends) are to send through western union the difference of the 3000.00 split in two (1500.00 x2 to (this is the funny part to me) 2 different people in the UK who are the shippers , they work at the same place, the addresses are the same were the western union is to be sent to. tried to tell friends STOP this is a scam. you are being taken by 3000.00 at least 6000.00 at most. told friends, why did they send you the 3000.00 extra to send back to them who suppose to work side by side (ha ha ) why did they not just hand over the 1500 x 2 to each other, since money coming from there, no name of shipping company, now, this is the company shipping the car from the US to the UK, would you think they would tell you up front where you will be shipping the car??? And who they are, hey, telling them the name of the shipping company, instead it is all personal names, another funny, the names to me are sure all american tyoe names., that this western union money is going to just personal names. sShipping company is to ship car from the states to the UK, the email they sent was the most unprofessional e-mail with all the verbal errors, remember, this is from a company but they have no name. Friends said the document was a cashiers check, hell, it is a draft, (was in banking for 10 YEARS, I still remember a few things) big difference between cashiers check and a draft. the other best part is, asked friends, why is the draft on a BSBC of CO, when they live in the UK and it was mailed from the UK, and they have branches of HSBC in the UK, by the way it is Manchester. That does not make any since at all. I have a copy of the draft, one thing that confuses me is, the draft says, "Insured by Intergrated payment systems inc. Englewood CO. payable through HSBC bank of USA Los Angeles CA."Draft states remitter as J. White, no complete first name and address, and then it states, pay exactly $6,000.00 Dollars. To the order of my friends, first and last name only, no Mr. or MS and no address, just first and lat name. (still gets better) draft states, Drawer HSBC bank USA, Never spelling out united states of America, always abbreviations, ( new way of banking to me) any way two signatures required for amount $50,000.00 and above. draft is for 6000.00 and has 2 signatures. It just stated above that it did not need 2 signatures; the signatures are of a man and women. NO address on the draft in CO or phone number, RED FLAGS ALL OVER THE PLACE. Can anyone tell me when did banks start deleting there street address and phone numbers off of checks, drafts, any nogocsable item????? and buyer and sellers do not have their address on the draft., would not expect phone number, I know it is a scam, trying to convince friends, by the way the are a older couple, don't mean to offend anyone, they are just set in there ways and believe they know more than what they do. they believe if their is any problem with the :cashiers check" the bank will have to take e the loss not them. (ha ha) did several different banks just have a bail out because they all do nothing wrong?????? oh well, different e-mail on another day, all kidding aside, they do not have 3000 to 6000 to loose, I know it is a scam. They have deposited the draft into there checking account, it has not "cleared yet" but they said it should real soon, and they are ready to close the deal by doing the 2 different western union transfers. Can anyone help me to prove to them it is a scam??? Any investigations on HSBC regarding this type of scam I can show them, anything. Thank you, also I do need this ASAP, (info)
K.D. please email me if you have anything that can help. thanks again |
B. Britz
in South Africa
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 | 05:29 AM
Justreceived below e-mail from Ms Helen Parker from e-mail: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Hello,
My name is Helen parker; I work with Tracking you Service, a consulting Firm in London, UK. We are conducting a standard process investigation involving a client who shares the same name with you and also the circumstances surrounding investments made by this client at HSBC Bank Plc. The HSBC Private Banking client died intestate and nominated no next of kin to inherit the title over the investments made with HSBC Bank Plc. The
essence of this communication with you is to request that you provide us information on three issues:
1-Are you aware of any relative/relation having the same surname, whose last known contact address as Madrid,Spain?
2-Are you aware of any investment of considerable value made by such a person at the HSBC Bank Plc.?
3-Can you establish beyond reasonable doubt your eligibility to assume status of next of kin to the deceased?
It is pertinent that you inform us ASAP whether or not you are familiar with this personality that we may put an end to this communication with you and our inquiries surrounding this personality. You must appreciate that we are constrained from providing you with more detailed information at this point. PLEASE RESPOND BACK TO MY PRIVATE AND DIRECT EMAIL ADDRESS;helen_park@live.com as soon as possible to afford us the opportunity to close this investigation.
Thank you for accommodating our enquiry.
Yours sincerely,
Ms. Helen Parker
Tracking you Service.
For: HSBC Private Clients.
This is a confidential message from Tracking you Service.
Think I'll send her my personal details to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) |
|
Page 3 of 3 pages < 1 2 3 |
In order to post comments you have to register as a member of the site. We were forced to restrict commenting because spammers were flooding the comment form with spam and crashing the server.
|
Note: This thread is located in the Old Forum of the Museum of Hoaxes.
|